Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello Again, and I would like to say thank you for taking the time to read my blog.  I haven’t written a post in almost 2 years, and my only reasons are lack of confidence and laziness.

In Fall 2013, I was in the best shape of my life.  I had lost 80 lbs, was fitting into size 10 skinny jeans, and felt amazing in my own skin.

Comparison

For me, pictures are the easiest way to show how far I have come!

One of my favorite phrases is “then life intervened.”  I slowly gained about 25 lbs back, and then held steady at that weight for about a year.

Then last year I made some major life decisions that I really struggled with.  I decided to uproot my life and to move to a new town 360 miles away, which also put me 650 miles away from my family.  I knew that it was an amazing career opportunity, but I was very unsure of whether or not it was the right decision for me personally.  I was going to move to a town where I knew exactly one person; I was leaving the amazing social family that I had built; I was going to be farther away from my family than I had ever been in my life.

After an abundance of internal struggle and conversations with my my mom, I ultimately accepted the job.  Immediately I started to pack on the pounds through stress eating, which I also attribute to depression.  I was preparing to go on an amazing vacation to Italy and Greece, and when I should have been working on losing weight and getting in shape, I was eating junk food by the pound.

At the beginning of June, I went with my mother and brother  on our trip, but I have very few pics that aren’t selfies because I hated how I looked.

Summer Pic

I was overweight, my clothes were very snug, and I looked like I had given up.  However, I do have a few selfies that I feel beautiful in.

Rome Selfie

Greek Night Selfie

After returning from my trip, I continued to gain weight.  I was stuck in a horrible place of not wanting to move for personal reasons and wanting to move for professional ones.  However, the contract was signed; I had signed a new lease and had given up my old apartment; I was obligated to move.

After the move was complete, I was very excited about the fact that my new place had 3 bedrooms, and I dedicated one of the upstairs rooms to fitness – much to the chagrin of my older brother who graciously helped me move my 7,000 lbs (that might be an exaggeration) treadmill upstairs.  I decided to go back to my fitness roots of Jillian Michaels, and I bought her newest 60-day program Body Shred.

Body Shred

I did exactly 4 days and promptly quit.  I was out of shape; it was hard.  Why should I bother?  I was destined to be fat.  I stayed in that mindset for the next 4 months.  I got my junk food addiction partially under control, lost about 10 lbs, and kept it off.  I was still depressed.  I hated being away from my friends and family.  As much as I was loving my new job, I could not shake the funk that I was in.

I decided right before Christmas that enough was enough.  I asked my parents for the newest Beachbody program of Hammer and Chisel, and they graciously got it for me.

Hammer and Chisel

I committed this time.  I knew I could do 8 solid weeks of this program.  I got my eating in check and was following the workout schedule religiously.  Guess what?  Life intervened.  I learned some news that really put me back in a funk.

friends are angels

Thank God for amazing friends.  My best friend in the entire world called me out on the fact that I had quit posting in our Facebook fitness group.  She questioned me and provided me with emotional support.  Through a little encouragement and a couple FaceTime workouts, I was able to get back on track.  I finished the program in 9 1/2 weeks, and even though it was supposed to only be 8 weeks, I consider finishing the program a victory.  I did more than the required 56 workouts.  I did all of the additional deluxe workouts that were considered supplementary, and I did a couple extra workouts as well to finish out a week.

Snail progress

I’m still working at it.  I’m still struggling daily.  I’m still battling stress and depression, BUT I’m not giving up.  I’m working at finding a balance and finding happiness.  I’m working on accepting that this is going to be a lifelong battle for me.  I will not accept that being unhealthy and overweight all that is in store for me.  I will succeed!

